Need Help?
Suggested Search Terms
The Sociology of Food is the study of food and eating in human society. Research in this field may incorporate aspects of history, anthropology, nutrition or psychology, and aims to answer the question of what role food plays within an underlying social environment.
This is a guide to selected sources of information about the Sociology of Food available at URI. To find additional information, conduct a Subject search in the library catalog using terms such as:
- Food
- Food Habits
- Food Consumption
- Food – Political Aspects
- Food – Social Aspects
- Nutrition – Social Aspects
- Drinking Customs
- URI Libraries Search
This link opens in a new window
Locate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries.
Articles & Databases
Journal and magazine articles concerning the Sociology of Food can be found using the following electronic databases, by conducting a keyword search or using subject headings.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to and full text of over 8,500 journals and magazines, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Covers a wide range of academic subjects including the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and more.
- What dates are covered? Coverage varies, but generally covers the mid 1990s - present. Updated daily.
- America: History and Life with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations to and the full text of hundreds of full-text history journals about the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes features such as the ability to search by time period.
- What dates are covered? 1955 to the present
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Full text access to current and back issues of fifteen of the American Anthropological Association's periodicals.
- What dates are covered? Coverage varies by publication, but generally covers the 1990s to the present.
- FSTA - Food Science and Technology Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Food Science & Technology Abstracts (FSTA) provides access to citations and abstracts dealing with all human food commodities and food processing (except for the production of raw food). Topics covered include microbiology, toxicology and hygiene, economics and statistics, engineering, packaging, and many food products. FSTA indexes articles, patents, standards, books, conference proceedings, research reports, dissertations, and legislation. Updated weekly.
- What dates are covered? 1969 - Present
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Indexing and abstracts of journal articles and other materials on the history of countries other than the United States and Canada. Updated monthly.
- What dates are covered? 1450 - Present
- Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? The international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Citations and abstracts for journals, books, dissertations, and conference papers in areas such as social structure, inequality, social change, and social problems. Updated monthly.
- What dates are covered? 1952 - Present.
Created & Revised By
Created by Mindy Drake 4/05. Revised & Reformated by Anthony Loffredio 4/12, Madge Boldt 4/14. Updated by Lauren Morrissette 6/18