Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Food Customs & Rituals - World
Cultural Foods: Traditions and Trends by
Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating TX725 A1 K545 2000
Publication Date: 1999
Describes the food-related traditions and trends of ethnic and religious groups throughout the world.
Eating Together: Food, Friendship, and Inequality by
Call Number: eBook available via ProjectMuse
Publication Date: 2013
"An insightful map of the landscape of social meals, Eating Together: Food, Friendship, and Inequality argues that the ways in which Americans eat together play a central role in social life in the United States."
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture by
Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating and Providence Campus Library Reference - Non Circulating GT2850 E53 2003
Publication Date: 2002
Provides information on the roles of food in human culture, from the Stone Age to the not-so-distant future.
Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia by
Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating GT2850 F666 2011
Publication Date: 2011
All four volumes of this encyclopedia are separated by country and each individual volume is arranged by location within that country. Each entry contains information of the different food cultures of countries all over the world. Entries include information on such topics as major food staples, cooking, everyday typical meals, eating out, and special occasions involving food in cultures throughout the world. Includes bibliographical reference at the end of each entry and index at the end of each volume.
Holidays, Festivals, and Celebrations of the World Dictionary : Detailing More Than 3,000 Observances From All 50 States and More Than 100 Nations : A Compendious Reference Guide to Popular, Ethnic, Religious, National, and Ancient Holidays by
Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating GT3925 H64 2010
“A compendious reference guide to popular, ethnic, religious, national, and ancient holidays, festivals, celebrations, commemorations, Holy Days, feasts, and fasts, including contact information and Web sites. Supplemented by special sections on words relating to time, calendar systems, phases of the moon, the world's major living religions, facts about the U.S. states and territories, legal holidays by state, facts about the U.S. Presidents, facts about countries around the world, legal holidays by country, tourism information sources...” Includes special subject index and general index.
Food Culture in China by
Call Number: Carothers Library Stacks TX724.5 C5 N45 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Food Customs & Rituals - United States
How America Eats by
Call Number: Carothers Library Stacks GT2853 U5 W35 2013
Publication Date: 2012
"Examines the history of American eating habits and illustrates the ways in which competing cultures, conquests, and cuisines have helped form the United States' identity and helped define what it means to be American."
The Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink by
Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating TX349 O94 2007
Publication Date: 2007
"A panoramic history of the culinary traditions, culture, and evolution of American food and drink features nearly one thousand entries, essays, and articles on such topics as fast food, celebrity chefs, regional and ethnic cuisine, social and cultural food history, food science, and more, along with hundreds of photographs and lists of food museums, Web sites, festivals, and organizations."
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.