Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History of Food - World
A History of Food by
Call Number: Carothers Library Stacks and Providence Campus Stacks TX353 T6413 2009
Publication Date: 2009
A collection of scholarly essays on the social and historical role of food and the human race. Topics include the practice of hunting and gathering, the consumption of salt and cereals, the discovery of stock-breeding and wine, the use of spices, sugar, potatoes, proteins, and more.
Cambridge World History of Food by
Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating and Providence Campus Library Reference - Non Circulating TX353 C255 2000
Publication Date: 1999
Compilation of nearly 200 scholarly articles concerning the origins and uses of foods worldwide, from ancient times to the present day.
Food in the Ancient World from A to Z by
Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating GT2853 G8 D35 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Entries concern, “significant food, drinks, and aromas of archaic and classical Greece, of the Hellenistic Greek states, and of the Roman Empire.”
The Oxford Companion to Food by
Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating and Providence Campus Library Reference - Non Circulating TX349 D365 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Provides historical origins and uses of edible plants, animals, and man-made foods.
World Food: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Social Influence from Hunter-gatherers to the Age of Globalization by
Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating TX349 S66 2013
Publication Date: 2012
"...brings a fresh social and cultural perspective to the global history of food, foodstuffs, and cultural exchange from the age of discovery to contemporary times. Comprehensive in scope, this two-volume encyclopedia covers agriculture and industry, food preparation and regional cuisines, science and technology, nutrition and health, and trade and commerce, as well as key contemporary issues such as famine relief, farm subsidies, food safety, and the organic movement." 2 vols.
History of Food - United States
Food and Drink in American History: A "Full Course" Encyclopedia by
Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating TX349 F5716 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Contains 664 alphabetically arranged entries on topics such as fast food, GMOs, stores and chain restaurants, ethnic cuisine, meatpacking, regional foods, prohibition, salt, slow food movement, TV dinners and the World Trade Organization. Includes a chronology of food-related events in America, from prehistoric settlement to provisions of the 2010 Affordable Care Act. 3 vols.
Almanacs and Chronologies
Food History Almanac: Over 1,300 Years of World Culinary History, Culture, and Social Influence by
Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating TX353 C568 2014
Publication Date: 2013
Organized in calendar format, contains entries for each day of the year from medieval times to the present. Topics include celebrations, food-related moments in history, food & war, food firsts, explorers & adventurers, crime & punishment, food & the law, food & religion, journals & letters, and food business. 2 vols.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.