Need Help?
Welcome! This page lists many of the questions faculty and instructors ask us frequently, and provides links to more information. If you have a question that isn't addressed below, please contact us!
For Teaching
How can I help my students become better researchers in the Library and online?
Where can I send my students for help?
How can I assess my students' information literacy competency?
How can I help students avoid plagiarism?
How do I get a link to share items in databases or the URI Libraries Search with my students in Brightspace?
How do I put materials on Reserve for my course(s)?
- Reserves
This link opens in a new window
What do I need to know about copyright for materials I use in my classes?
For Researching
How can I see what books I have checked out or on hold? Can I renew online?
Can I suggest that the Libraries buy a book or video for the collection?
Do we have access to a citation manager?
Yes! URI subscribes to RefWorks, which connects to Word and Google Docs to help you write and cite correctly and efficiently.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Web-based citation manager. Import citations from databases to create your own personal collection. Automatically format your papers and bibliographies in any of almost 150 formats (e.g. APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian, CBE, etc.).
How does URI support Open Access?
- DigitalCommons@URIDeposit your work in URI's institutional repository to make it available open access. Open access scholarship is more likely to be used, mentioned, and cited because it is available to everyone.
I need to share my research data. How can I do that?
What article databases are available at URI?
- Articles & DatabasesList of article and research databases, organized by subject area.
Where can I learn more about altmetrics and generally measuring my research impact?
Can I get a card that will let me check out books from other Rhode Island research libraries?
For Your Department
I'm proposing a course. Where do I get the Library Impact Statements?
Special Note: Books for New Faculty
The Libraries encourage all faculty to submit regular requests for books (and videos) to enhance our collections. Annual funds are allocated to each department for the purchase of monographs, and Professor Joanna Burkhardt, Collection Development Officer, can assist in the selection and purchase of desired materials.
An additional $500 is available to each new faculty member in their first year for the selection of materials to support their research and teaching. To take advantage of these funds, please email Professor Burkhardt at jburkhardt@uri.edu.