Need Help?
Department Publications
These are the latest publications from faculty members in this department.
Welcome!
Animal science is a field covering many aspects of the care and production of livestock species, most commonly cattle, swine, poultry, sheep, and horses. Companion animals, exotic species, and those used in laboratory settings are also increasingly the subject of studies within the animal science realm.
This guide will cover some books, journals, and websites you may want to utilize as you begin your studies.
Recommended Databases
Some recommended places to search for scholarly articles on animal science and related topics.
- AGRICOLA (National Agricultural Library) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Coverage of worldwide literature on agriculture and related subjects, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, etc. Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, technical reports, and other materials.
- What dates are covered? 1970- (books) and 1981- (articles). Updated daily.
- Biological and Agricultural Index Plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Indexing of approximately 300 core periodicals in biology and agriculture.
- What dates are covered? 1983-. Updated daily.
- FSTA - Food Science and Technology Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Food Science & Technology Abstracts (FSTA) provides access to citations and abstracts dealing with all human food commodities and food processing (except for the production of raw food). Topics covered include microbiology, toxicology and hygiene, economics and statistics, engineering, packaging, and many food products. FSTA indexes articles, patents, standards, books, conference proceedings, research reports, dissertations, and legislation. Updated weekly.
- What dates are covered? 1969 - Present
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? A collection of journals from the publisher Elsevier and its affiliates. Journals may be browsed or searched by keyword. Access to the full content of articles from selected journals is available to URI users. Availability is indicated by a green icon. Other articles may be requested via Interlibrary Loan.
- What dates are covered? 1995 - Present.
- SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations to, abstracts, and full text of scholarly research and technical literature in disciplines related to natural sciences and technology. Content covered includes scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
- What dates are covered? 1946 - Present.
- What else should I know? Comprises the sub-databases: Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database; Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Index; AGRICOLA; Agricultural Science Database; Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts; Biological Science Database; Biological Science Index; Computer Science Database; Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database; Engineering Database, Engineering Index; Environmental Science Database; Environmental Science Index; Materials Science Database; Materials Science Index; Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts; Oceanic Abstracts; Science Database.
- Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
Animal Science
Use the catalog to search for books.
Try a keyword search. What words best describe the topic you are interested in? If you want to know more about the nutrient needs of dairy cows, try searching for cattle AND nutrition.
You could also conduct a Subject Term search. Some suggestions include: LIVESTOCK, ANIMAL FEEDING, VETERINARY MEDICINE, etc. Once you find a book that you like, be sure to check the Subject Terms listed towards the bottom of the book record-- these may give you some other ideas.
- URI Libraries Search
- This link opens in a new window
Locate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries.
If it’s scholarly articles you are searching for, the best place to search is in an online database (see the appropriate tab for suggestions).Through these, you can access the articles contained in many scholarly and peer-reviewed journals.
If you run into any difficulties, do not hesitate to ask a reference librarian!
Science Daily Veterinary Science RSS Feed
Created & Updated by
Erica Cataldi-Roberts, 2/12
Edited by Kimberly MacKenzie, 12/18; 2/18