Animal Science Organizations
General Animal Science Books
If you're just getting started in animal science, these books will introduce you to some of the main topics.
An illustrated guide to animal science terminology : with interactive CD-ROM by Call Number: Carothers Library Stacks SF61 B695 2008ISBN: 1418011517Publication Date: 2008This thorough guide contains a plethora of definitions concerning animal science, and much more. Many black and white pictures, maps, anatomy charts, and other supplementary information are included with each chapter. Information concerns not just livestock, but also cats, dogs, bison and more. Usage, products, breeds, and management terms are all covered. Includes CD-ROM.
Bovids of the World by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780691167176Publication Date: 2016This book is a field guide to bovids (cloven-hoofed ruminants) throughout the world. This guide includes many color images and information on cattle, bison, buffalo, sheep, and goats, as well as species such as antelope, wildebeest, gazelles, and others.
Mason's world dictionary of livestock breeds, types, and varieties by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating SF105 M34 2002ISBN: 085199430XPublication Date: 2002This book contains a listing of breeds and types (both in existence and extinct) of asses, buffalo, cattle, goats, horses, pigs, and sheep. Introduction contains a key to reading the entries. The glossary contains terms relating to livestock in a variety of languages, from Afrikaans to Vietnamese. A bibliography to breed sources, broken down by country and animal type, is also provided.
Handbook of livestock management by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating SF65.2 B38 2007ISBN: 9780131189331Publication Date: 2007Contains information on all aspects of animal production, broken down by species (beef/dairy cattle, swine, horses, sheep, goats, and poultry). Also has chapters on animal restraint and general health management of livestock. Some black and white photographs of popular breeds; many illustrations, charts, and tables.
Livestock feeds and feeding by Call Number: Carothers Library Stacks SF95 .K3296 2010ISBN: 9780131594753Publication Date: 2010Includes chapters on the anatomy and physiology of the digestive system, different categories of feed and subjects such as balancing rations and labelling laws. Each type of livestock is given a dedicated chapter covering feeding practices in detail, with a separate section for companion and exotic animals as well as rabbits. Every chapter is concluded with a summary and references and there are numerous informational charts, graphs, and tables. A very complete book on a complex subject.
Biostatistics for Animal Science by Call Number: Carothers Library Stacks SF140 S72 K37 2009ISBN: 9781845935405Publication Date: 2009This textbook provides an introduction to the statistical principles commonly used for data analysis in the animal sciences.
Scientific Farm Animal Production by Call Number: Carothers Library Stacks SF61 T39 2008ISBN: 0132447363Publication Date: 2007This text covers the management practices and biological/scientific principles involved in the production of primary livestock animals.
