Skip to main content
Veterinary Medicine Organizations
Veterinary Medicine RSS feed
Books on Veterinary Medicine
The Merck Veterinary Manual
Call Number: Ref SF745 M47 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Breaks down veterinary diseases by body system afflicted, as well as specialized chapters on poultry, exotic and laboratory animals, behavior, clinical procedures, and more. Entries may contain information on etiology, clinical findings, diagnosis, treatment, prevention, control, and prognosis. Contains index and reference charts.
Principles and practice of veterinary technology
Call Number: SF774.4 P75 2004
Contains information on skills used in veterinary practice, such as dealing with people in a clinical setting. Broad topics such as animal physiology, nutrition and behavior are given overviews. A section also exists discussing procedures typically performed by veterinary technicians. The last chapters cover animal care and relevant information by species including wild animals and rodents. Included are many helpful pictures, tables, sidebars and further resources.
Large animal internal medicine
Call Number: Ref SF745 L37 2009
This very complete work covers many aspects of large animal (ruminants, cattle, and equids) medicine. Chapters focus on common symptoms, diseases by body system involved, prevention and therapies (including vaccinations), and miscellaneous topics such as poisoning. Many chapters contain tables or figures with pertinent info; 24 color plates are also included. Has list of contributors and an extensive index.
Call Number: SF997.5 I5 L49 2006
Includes information on all types of invertebrates, from simple sponges to crustaceans and insects. Each chapter includes such information as anatomy and physiology, common environmental problems and proper anesthesia and surgical techniques. The last chapters include pertinent topics such as diagnostic techniques and laws concerning captive invertebrates. Many references and occasionally recommended reading are given at the end of all chapters.
Animals, the law and veterinary medicine : a guide to veterinary law
Call Number: KF3835 S67 2000
This book very thoroughly covers many of the laws and regulations effecting animals and the people who treat and care for them. Chapters include such topics as animal welfare and malpractice. Another discusses employment laws and others of importance to veterinarians considering their own practice. Includes a glossary of legal terms and many citations for court cases and real life examples.
, Articles & Databases
, Biological Sciences
, Business, Labor, and Economics
, Cell & Molecular Biology
, Computer Science & Statistics
, Criminology & Criminal Justice
, Environmental & Natural Resource Economics
, Film Studies
, Fisheries, Animal & Veterinary Science
, General & Reference
, General Library Information
, Hot Topics
, Internet Resources
, Labor Relations & Human Resources
, Landscape Architecture
, Life Sciences, Marine & Environment
, Natural Resources
, Nutrition & Food Science
, Plant Sciences
, Political Science
, Rhode Island and New England
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.